

Her Excellency Mrs Beata Szydlo The Chancellery of the Prime Minister Al. Ujazdowskie 1/3 00-583 Warsaw POLAND

### TO THE ATTENTION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN COUNCIL

# Re: European Year of Cultural Heritage in 2018 & 60<sup>™</sup> anniversary of the Treaty of Rome

Dear Mrs Prime Minister,

As representatives of the European Heritage Alliance 3.3 - a large platform of 37 European and international networks active in the field of cultural heritage - we wish to congratulate your government and the EU Institutions on your joint commitment to the European Year of Cultural Heritage in 2018. We also wish to assure you of our full support and our readiness to mobilise our members and partners across Europe to contribute to the success of this Year in a creative and dynamic way.

At the same time, we urge you and other members of the European Council to ensure that the European Year of Cultural Heritage is supported with adequate financial resources at all levels of governance: from European to national, regional and local. Given the huge value of cultural heritage and its proven positive impact on Europe's economy - creating jobs and growth, as well as on Europe's society, culture and environment, it is fully justified to allocate a significant budget to the implementation of this historic European initiative.

At a time when EU Member States and Institutions are confronted with an unprecedented political, economic, social, environmental and cultural crisis, we hope that you share our strong belief that the European Year of Cultural Heritage provides us all with a unique opportunity to convey a positive and cohesive message to Europe's citizens. Promoting the understanding and enjoyment of our shared heritage and history and sharing this heritage with other cultures of the world have significant added value. Not only can we boost the much-needed awareness and sense of belonging to a wider community within and across Europe but we can also make use of heritage as a catalyst to build bridges and foster dialogue between cultures across the globe.

On 25 March 2017, you will meet in Rome with other EU Heads of State or Government to mark the 60th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome. We call on you all to seize the opportunity of this historic gathering to publicly recognise that the entire European project has a wider cultural meaning and significance derived from our shared cultural patrimony, both tangible and intangible. We should preserve and celebrate our rich heritage as much as we should understand and promote the shared cultural values that are interwoven in this heritage and define who we are as a wider community of Europeans. Each member of the European Heritage Alliance 3.3 stands ready to cooperate closely with EU Institutions and Member States with the aim of giving our cultural resources and related capital a much stronger recognition and a much more central place within the future agendas of the European Union.

Thanking you in advance for your full commitment – both institutional and personal – to furthering this goal, in the framework of the European Year of Cultural Heritage and beyond,

#### Most respectfully,

#### Members of the European Heritage Alliance 3.3

#### Signed by:

Plácido Domingo, President <u>EUROPA NOSTRA</u>, acting as Coordinator of the European Heritage Alliance 3.3

Yves Dauge, Chairman <u>ACCR</u> (Association des Centres Culturels de Rencontres)

Christophe Eschlimann, President <u>AEERPA</u> (European Association of Architectural Heritage Restoration Companies)

Dr Inge Gotzmann, President <u>CIVILSCAPE</u> (European Landscape Convention)

Susan Corr, President <u>E.C.C.O.</u> (European Confederation of Conservator-Restorers' Organisations)

Gorgun Taner, Board Chair <u>ECF</u> (European Cultural Foundation)

Valerie Carter, President <u>ECOVAST</u> (European Council for the Village and Small Town)

Raitis Sijats, President <u>ECTN</u> (European Cultural Tourism Network)

Joris Sheers, President
<u>ECTP-CEU</u> (European Council of Spatial Planners)

Assumpció Feliu, Chair <u>E-FAITH</u> (European Federation of Associations of Industrial & Technical Heritage)

Rodolphe de Looz-Corswarem, President EHHA (European Historic Houses Association)

Thierry de l'Escaille, Secretary General
ELO (European Landowners' Organisation)

Hendrik Boland, President
EMH (European Maritime Heritage)

Andreja Rihter, President <u>EMA</u> (European Museum Academy)

Goranka Horjan, Chair <u>EMF</u> (European Museum Forum)

Annick Schramme, Chair <u>ENCATC</u> (European Network of Cultural Administration Training Centres)

Wolfgang Baatz, Chairman
<u>ENCoRE</u> (European Network for Conservation-Restoration Education)

Prof. Dr. Meinrad Maria Grewenig, President ERIH (European Route of Industrial Heritage)

Loa Steinunn Kirstjansdottir, President <u>EUROCLIO</u> (European Association of History Educators)

Daniël Termont, Mayor of Ghent, President EUROCITIES EUROCITIES (The Network of Major European Cities)

David Morgan, President
FEDECRAIL (European Federation of Museum and Tourist Railways)

Olivier de Rohan-Chabot, Chair <u>FRH</u> (Future for Religious Heritage – European Network for historic places of worship)

Dr. Louis Roppe, President <u>Heritage Europe-EAHTR</u> (European Association of Historic Towns and Regions)

Suay Aksoy, President ICOM (International Council of Museums)

Gustavo Araoz, President <u>ICOMOS</u> (International Council on Monuments and Sites)

Thorsten Ludwig & Sebastian Zoepp, Managing Directors Interpret Europe

Dame Fiona Reynolds, Chair <u>INTO</u> (International National Trusts Organisation)

David Vuillaume, Chair <u>NEMO</u> (Network of European Museum Organisations)

Denis Ricard, Secretary General <u>OWHC</u> (Organisation of World Heritage Cities)

Manoëlle Wasseige, President <u>RANN</u> (Réseau Art Nouveau Network)

Aleksandra Kapetanovic, President
<u>SEE Heritage Network</u> (South East European Heritage Network)

Prof. Patrick Martin, President <u>TICCIH</u> (The International Committee for the Conservation of the Industrial Heritage)

Thomas Vonier, Secretary General <u>UIA workgroup Heritage Region 1</u> (International Union of Architects)

ANCBS (Association of National Committees of the Blue Shield)

**<u>EWT</u>** (European Walled Towns)

**IFLA Europe** (International Federation of Landscape Architects)

**ISOCARP** (International Society of City and Regional Planners)

## ABOUT

\* The European Heritage Alliance 3.3 is an informal European sectoral platform composed of 37 European and international networks active in the wider field of cultural and natural heritage with a wide combined membership of tens of millions of Europe's citizens who support heritage as professionals or volunteers.

\* The Alliance was launched in June 2011 with the aim to inspire and coordinate an effective advocacy action towards the EU Institutions with regard to EU policies and programmes that have a direct or indirect impact on cultural heritage.

\* The name of this Alliance refers to the article 3.3. of the consolidated version of the Lisbon Treaty of the European Union which stipulates that "[The Union] shall respect its rich cultural and linguistic diversity, and shall ensure that Europe's cultural heritage is safeguarded and enhanced."

\* Europa Nostra acts as the Coordinator of the European Heritage Alliance 3.3. This activity is included in the organisation's Network Project "Mainstreaming Heritage" co-funded by Creative Europe.

www.europeanheritagealliance.eu

<u>Contact:</u> **European Heritage Alliance 3.3** | <u>www.europeanheritagealliance.eu</u> coordinated by Europa Nostra - Brussels office Rue de Trêves 67, B-1040 Brussels, Belgium | <u>bxl@europanostra.org</u> | +32 2 400 77 02